I failed my PMP exam today

Discussion in 'PMP' started by Stanley Banks, Jan 6, 2015.

1. Stanley Banks

Stanley Banks Member

Today, I took the PMP exam and failed. I'm in shock. I studied so hard. Last year, I enrolled in PMI and studied nonstop for months, consistently scoring at least 60% on mock exams. Maybe I rushed into the exam. I was just so worried that I would miss out, fearing the exam change. My PMI membership expires soon. I want to take the PMP exam again before that time. Can you suggest a new study strategy and some test exams that will help me take and pass this test before any exam changes take place? What's the best time to sit for the exam? Also, I need to know how much the exam plus membership fee will be.

2. Tracey Sharp

Tracey Sharp Member

There could be many reasons for failing the PMP exam. You might not have adequately studied. And, even with good preparation, you could have other factors working against you. For instance, lack of sleep the night before or nervous tension during the test can make you skip or miss questions you would otherwise know the answers to.

Carefully review as many of the questions as you can on a practice exam, when not in a stressful situation and see if you get a passing grade. Sometimes, the stressful environment of a test makes it impossible to pass for some.

Some students may have the knowledge but freeze up during standardized tests. The pressure can be very intense.

You should find a way to reduce stress during a live test situation, such as meditation or deep breathing, especially if you are confident you already know the material. This will increase your chances of answering the questions correctly next time.

3. Ella Harmon

Ella Harmon Member

My suggestion is to go through the PMBOK at least several times before attempting the exam again. The questions on the PMP are based on PMBOK, so you should be studying that guide very thoroughly.