Arjun Gupta August 17 -Technical PD1 Batch

Discussion in 'Salesforce Certification' started by Arjun Gupta_1, Aug 17, 2019.

  1. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Thread for doubts and notes
     
    #1
  2. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Day 1 Notes :)
     

    Attached Files:

    #2
  3. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Day 2 Notes! :)
     

    Attached Files:

    #3
  4. SAVEGA IT Solutions

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Arjun,

    Where are the recordings of Saturday's and Sunday's sessions

    Thanks,
    Praveena
     
    #4
  5. Ajith K_2

    Ajith K_2 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try to raise a support ticket.
     
    #5
  6. SAVEGA IT Solutions

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Support Ticket does not work. Anyways I got the recordings. Thanks for the response
     
    #6
  7. Rakesh valappil

    Rakesh valappil New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the daily notes has the Article section, i am looking for links that Arjun mentioned about administration
     
    #7
  8. David Hamilton_1

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you mean by SLIDES? Are you referring to the Ebooks 1-2-4?
     
    #8
  9. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hello,

    Thanks for raising this, but for this you might need to reach out to the Support for such platform issues as they would have control over it. Do you have a phone number of theirs?
     
    #9
  10. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hi Rakesh, i will send out some good links with time, hang on to this week's sessions for now. Thank you
     
    #10
  11. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    T
    Thanks always! for trying to help
     
    #11
  12. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    I am sorry that i sounded confusing, i meant the deck or the presentations you would typically get when you enroll. This should be available as resources in your course, or reach out to support if you dont see any presentations. Cheers!
     
    #12
  13. Divya Uday

    Divya Uday Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi , would be needing all the admin related Link which u said in the previous class.
    Thanks,
    Divya
     
    #13
  14. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Day 3 notes :)
     

    Attached Files:

    #14
  15. Mayur Koli

    Mayur Koli Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Arjun,

    New Apex Class and Open Execute Anonymous window option is disabled for my profile by default in Developer Console.
    How can i enabled that option for my profile ?

    Thanks & Regards,
    Mayur Koli
     

    Attached Files:

    #15
  16. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Day 4 notes
     

    Attached Files:

    #16
  17. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hi Mayur,

    I think you have not logged in as a System Administrator - please check this first. Your profile should be System Admin

    Regards
     
    #17
  18. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    #18
    Ajith K_2 likes this.
  19. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43


    This tells you in a crisp manner the security administration aspects, which in my view, every developer should also be aware of
     
    #19
  20. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    #20
  21. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    #21
  22. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Day 5 notes
     

    Attached Files:

    #22
  23. SAVEGA IT Solutions

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Arjun,

    I tried executing the below snippet of code expecting the Accounts to be newAccounts ={Praveena0, Praveena1 , Praveena2} But I found that the accounts inserted are newAccounts={ Praveena2, Praveena2 , Praveena2} at the end of iteration(i=2). Can you help find the issue. How ever if I reinitialize tempAccount = new Account() inside the for loop, I am getting the desired output. Can you please explain how.

    public void createMoreAccountsfor(){
    List<Account> newAccounts = new List<Account>();
    Account tempAccount = new Account();
    for(Integer i=0;i<3;i++){
    tempAccount.Name='Praveena'+String.valueof(i);
    newAccounts.add(tempAccount);
    System.debug('Iteration '+i+' These are the Accounts'+JSON.serializePretty(newAccounts));
    }

    }

    Thanks,
    Praveena
     
    #23
    Arjun Gupta_1 likes this.
  24. Ajith K_2

    Ajith K_2 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    You will have to re-initialize the Account object in each iteration of the loop.
    ie, Account tempAccount = new Account(); should be inside the loop.
    And, the printing should be outside the loop like
    System.debug(These are the Accounts'+JSON.serializePretty(newAccounts));

    I think this will provide the required result you are looking.
     
    #24
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2019
  25. SAVEGA IT Solutions

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes I got that point. But was wondering why the reinitialization is required. Isn't reassigning same as reinitialization
     
    #25
  26. Babatope Olajide

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    During the break, I would like you to go through how I can achieve this using Apex Class and VF page. This is the link https://ibb.co/frW6Ybm and this is what I have done so far https://ibb.co/VVyfkb9 - Can you help with the approach, please
     
    #26
  27. Ajith K_2

    Ajith K_2 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    If we didnt re-initialize its actually using the original object and changing its value in the list List<Account> newAccounts
     
    #27
    Arjun Gupta_1 likes this.
  28. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Day 6 notes attached
     

    Attached Files:

    #28
  29. Babatope Olajide

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  30. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Apologies, could not see it earlier.

    How i see your requirement, it queries the data and then displays it in a tabular format.
    Note: We are planning to do Visualforce programming in which we are bound to do this anyway, along with knowing how to :
    1. Display data in a table
    2. How to use pagination to navigate between records in a table
    3. How to select records and do a DML action on them
    4. The data in a table will involve a query to DB for any sObject.

    May i suggest if you could hold on for that class, we will anyway cover this use case. Does this help? Let me know
     
    #30
  31. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hi Praveena, the reason why you have to initialize the object again inside the for loop and not outside it, is because you allocate it a new memory / if you do not do that, you are trying to just modified the old memory (the CPU points to the same memory allocation which you keep modifying thrice). So you have to allocate a new CPU memory and allocate it a value
     
    #31
  32. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Just Adding to this, we will also be using concept of wrapper classes and some system classes for performance enhancement
     
    #32
  33. Babatope Olajide

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does not help but it is fine if you prefer to go through it in class...
     
    #33
  34. Angana Chakraborty

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi @Arjun Gupta_1, I am not able to see "production" as an option while authorizing salesforce site. Can you help..
     
    #34
  35. Divya Uday

    Divya Uday Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    if we use login.salesforce.com ->It is production environment
    if we use test.salesforce.com-->it is something we use for development before production.
     
    #35
  36. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hi Manifest,

    Let me assure you, that the points i mentioned will be covered all in Visualforce pages topic when we come to it. We specially talk about querying the data and displaying it in table with the actions i mentioned above like pagination / selection etc. I wanted to know is that what you are looking for now in your requirement as well? If yes, i would request you to please allow me to go on to the fourth week Sunday to cover this part in Visualforce pages

    Kindly let me know if this is informative, as you had mentioned my earlier response is not helping you
     
    #36
  37. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hi Divya,

    No, for Developer (which is like the developer environment we use for practice) and also the LIVE production environment (which salesforce gives with user licenses we purchase) both use --> PRODUCTION, when you create projects, and URL "login.salesforce.com"

    For all Sandboxes which come with the LIVE production environment, when we purchase it, we use "test.salesforce.com" in URL

    Kindly, also check the video in the first week i believe when described this more. Let me know if this answers you?
     
    #37
  38. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hi Angana

    Did you select "Authorize and Org" in VS Code you mean? And then you cannot see "PRODUCTION" as an option? If yes, please post couple of screenshots of how you are doing it and what options you otherwise see?

    Cheers!
     
    #38
  39. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hi All

    Day 7 notes attached!

    Cheers!
    Arjun
     

    Attached Files:

    #39
  40. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Day 8 Notes
     

    Attached Files:

    #40
  41. Angana Chakraborty

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi @Arjun Gupta_1 ,
    I installed VS code and plugin following the recording and when i go to ctrl+shift+p and try to authorize the site, it does not show me the option "Production". This is step i am stuck in, attaching a screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

    #41
  42. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Day 9 Notes Attached
     

    Attached Files:

    #42
  43. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    #43
    SAVEGA IT Solutions likes this.
  44. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hi Angana, looks like the SFDX CLI is not installed.
    Also, the command is incorrect, we never gave Production in command: we use: SFDX: Authorize an Org

    Can you please look at the recording and follow the steps please.
    I will repeat the installables again here, but you are advised to see the session when you do this, the command you are entering is incorrect:

    Installables:
    VisualStudio Code Steps in a blog:
    https://readsalesforce.wordpress.co...ing-salesforce-dx-release-management-in-sfdc/

    1. JDK (Java Developement Kit)
    https://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jdk12-downloads-5295953.html
    2. GIT https://www.atlassian.com/git/tutorials/install-git
    3. SFDX CLI
    https://developer.salesforce.com/do...up.meta/sfdx_setup/sfdx_setup_install_cli.htm
    4. Visual studio code:
    https://code.visualstudio.com/download
    5. Install Salesforce Extension Package

    All commands are on Ctr+shift+p
    a. Create a project with manifest
    b. Authorized an org
    c. Set a default org
    d. Get all the code
     
    #44
    Angana Chakraborty likes this.
  45. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Day 10 notes attached
     

    Attached Files:

    #45
  46. David Hamilton_1

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive got to say I'm struggling making all of this trigger work. Ive spent the better part of the last three days trying to architect this and just feel im over complicating it. I re-watched three of the recordings and im stumped. Ive got a working map and a working list.. but the return does not pull back the relational fields values from the plan record. It only pulls back the Plan ID.(#1 issue) Now this is where I started getting over complicated, mostly because I keep trying to think in terms of SQL how I would source variables. (#2 Issue). Im just lost. While we went over how many of these things worked. We didn't really cover architecture of a method. Now I've done this plenty in SQL but I know my limits with that language. I hit brick wall after Brick wall. I would like to see us outline the logical thinking on this method or at least get some help. By this I mean ( See Example)

    1) pass New mapping to Method
    2) Map Bill Id and Bill Customer
    3) List source plan data form Customer ID ( Since I couldn't source this data, the next steps are what I took)

    4) Created a variable for all useful fields in Plan Object based on List Output ID ( Had to Set ID from the List)
    5) Created a variable for all useful fields in Bill Object based on Bill ID(This is not solid)

    6) Created a variable for call Charges that sources Plan and Bill Data to create Calculation.
    7) Created a variable for sms Charges that sources Plan and Bill Data to create Calculation.
    8) Created a variable for internet Charges that sources Plan and Bill Data to create Calculation.

    and so on.. maybe?
     
    #46
  47. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    Hi David, wrt this, let us discuss this out in today's session which is dedicated to complete the project.
     
    #47
  48. David Hamilton_1

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Class reference code
     

    Attached Files:

    #48
  49. Arjun Gupta_1

    Arjun Gupta_1 Customer
    Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    43
    @All
    What if i change the free minutes or free mb or free sms on the plan???
    Will the related Customer's Bills get auto updated with their amounts??? - NO

    The answer is NO, because, we are not writing a trigger on Plan, so i want all of you to do this logic offline. Create a trigger on plan and then make it work the reverse way
     
    #49
  50. Soujanya Gunturi

    Soujanya Gunturi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    upload_2019-9-22_15-6-57.png
    Hello Arjun, Thank you for the excellent guidance you provided. I have created test class, triggerhandler and trigger for the project. The test is successfully passed but when I see the test result, I see I get AssertionFailed message. Can you please tell what to do in this regrad. Thanks, Soujanya
     
    #50

Share This Page